Picking Cherries

There are several cherry farms within a thirty minute drive of my home.  Quite a few of these farms allow visitors to pick their own cherries.  I went last Saturday and had so much fun that I decided to go again, today!  My fingers are stained pink from pitting cherries for the past few hours, but it’s worth it to have these delicious, bite-sized treats.  Last weekend I pitted the cherries with a knife (it took forever.)  I’ve learned from my mistakes and purchased two cherry pitters.  These have at least doubled my efficiency.  I’m planning on making a cherry crumble tonight or tomorrow.  Mmm…I can’t wait!

Brentwood, California

Brentwood, California

 

The freshness makes a tremendous difference.  If you can't pick your own produce, I recommend visiting your local farmers' market.

The freshness makes a tremendous difference. If you can't pick your own produce, I recommend visiting your local farmers' market.

Leave a Reply

