Momma & Baby are growing

Both Momma and Baby have been growing a lot lately!  I’m trying to focus on the amazing things my body is doing to nourish and create this life.  God’s design for creating a new life truly is incredible.  Having never had this type of transformation occur, I toggle between moments of amazement and bewilderment.  It’s strange to see my body taking a shape it’s never had before.  It’s harder to sit back and accept that I can’t control what’s happening.  The hardest part is realizing that my preconceived image of what a pregnant woman looks like is not what I will look like.  I am not the tall, slender woman with long, sleek legs and arms and a perfectly round and tight pregnant belly.  I am short and curvy and not anything like the pregnant models or actresses normally thought of as “beautiful pregnant women.”  Today I am at the exact mid-point of my pregnancy, assuming I give birth at forty weeks.  My goal for the next twenty weeks is to learn to love this new shape I’m becoming.

Baby is now nearly seven inches long measuring from crown to rump and weighs approximately 11 ounces.  That’s about the size of a large banana.  Baby’s momma, yours truly, has been eating a wide variety of foods to provide an array of necessary nutrients as well as taking a prenatal vitamin once daily.  It is also reported in many studies that a child’s palette develops while still in the womb, so this variety of foods should help promote the acceptance of many flavors by Baby.  We’re having enchiladas tonight! Yummy! Baby should definitely like spicy food if my diet is any indication. 

This week Baby’s eyebrows and eyelids are fully developed.  Pretty neat, huh?  I think this ultrasound picture of Baby from last week is cute!  Maybe that’s just the proud momma coming out in me 😉

19 weeks, 2 days

Every evening I look forward to the moment my husband gets home from work.  We enjoy our quiet evenings together  over dinner and walks.  Sometimes we watch a Netflix movie or play online.  Regardless of what we do, these evenings are the highlight of my days.  He has been such a blessing to me, and I know he will be an excellent dad.

7 thoughts on “Momma & Baby are growing

  1. You are such a beautiful girl. I know it must be hard to accept the changes that pregnancy brings to your body, but I hope that when you look in the mirror you are able to see the beauty and happiness that I see when I look at your photos! xoxo

  2. Thats a great picture! I took a picture too but it doesn’t look as good as yours, so I didn’t bother putting it up! Congrats on your halfway! =] I’ve been eating alot of spicy foods too! Maybe it’s just a pregnancy thing, lol.

Leave a Reply

