Tomorrow is my due date. (a status update & request)

Tomorrow is my due date.  I have not had my baby yet.  I’m not in the hospital.  I’m not in labor, and I don’t have any signs of labor starting soon.  The full moon had no effect on me.  I walked for hours over the weekend, ate many spicy foods and I know the various other methods of trying to naturally induce labor. 

I know there will be questions on “how I’m feeling” flooding in as I hit and pass up my due date.  I know this because I’ve already received many of these questions at 37, 38 and 39 weeks.  First, thank you to everyone for showing so much excitement, concern and enthusiasm for us as we anxiously await the birth of our son.  Secondly, I’d like to humbly ask that you don’t ask me if I’m in labor or if I’m having any “signs” of labor starting soon.  (Basically, you’re asking about the exact state of my vagina…kind of personal, eh?)  I’m excited and anxious to meet my baby, and the questions make me feel more anxious, over-whelmed and like I’m failing at having him “on time.”  I cannot control when this baby will be born, and I want to meet him at least as bad as anyone else.  If you want to tell me you’re thinking of me, that’s great.  If you want to pray that God will give me peace and patience as I wait for His perfect timing and for a safe and healthy delivery, that would be even better. 

I realize this may sound rude.  I really don’t want it to sound that way, but I’m not sure how else to express my emotions now.  I simply don’t want any more stress than is necessary.  If you’re reading this (and you are, obviously) then you care about me, and I’m very grateful for that.  Thank you.

P.S.  This is a totally off-topic question, but do people still write thank you notes?  I’ve given several wedding and baby shower gifts this year, and have yet to receive a thank you note (or even Facebook acknowledgment) from all but one person.

10 thoughts on “Tomorrow is my due date. (a status update & request)

  1. I’m just as excited as you are to see this kid! And, I totally understand your request and where it’s coming from. I just hope you’re able to forget everything else and just concentrate on the baby. You’re about to be a family of FOUR!
    And as for thank you notes- YES, they are still required. At every holiday or birthday my sister still has my niece hand write and send out thank you notes. I feel that it’s good etiquette. With the advent of Facebook, things have become less personal, but it doesn’t have to be that way if you don’t let it!
    Good luck, and I’ll be thinking of you these next few days!

    • I’m so glad to hear there are still people who believe in thank you notes! I always send them out. I’m just a little surprised to be the recipient of so few of these notes, since I was raised to consider them quite normal and necessary. Thanks for your encouragement and excitement for us 🙂 I still think Cooper is clueless about the little brother he’s about to get.

  2. I can’t even begin to imagine the emotions you must be feeling right now, but this beautifully written post helps me get an inkling. I know that I sure didn’t want to come out of my Momma back in February of 1985–I guess it’s really comfy in there… but he’ll come out when he’s ready. Maybe he just wants to up your Christmas anticipation. 😉 Love you so much and praying for you guys.

  3. How I wish I would of sent something like this out when I was approahing my due date! Thinking of you and your family enjoy every last minute if being pregnant you’ll be surprised when you actually miss feeling the way you do right now! I’ll be praying that you have an easy and complication free labor and delivery!

  4. I wasn’t sure if I should publish this post or not, but I worried that I’d regret it if I didn’t. Thank you for the prayers, Melissa! I’m still enjoying being pregnant, and I just have to remember that God knows the best timing for my son’s birth. It’s crazy to know that any day now my life will be changed forever!

  5. Thank you for the update. I know it’s hard to answer the same questions over and over. Yes, everyone is anxious, but also excited about the new additon to the family. We are definitely praying for a easy delivery, healthy baby boy and instant joy on seeing your son for the first time. Wishing you and Clint the very best. We love ya’ll! Give Cooper a hug for me. Love, Aunt Net

  6. Melissa,
    Your brother Michael was born 11 days pass my due day. I am still in awe of all God worked out between November 17 and November 28, 1989! We serve an awesome God! Love, Mom

  7. You, Clint, and your baby are in my prayers. I’ve been thinking about you a lot lately :). PS I hope people still send thank yous! I know the feeling though when you didn’t get one…the thing that bothers me the most is I’m scared the present didn’t get to them.

  8. Can totally identify w those emotions. I had to be induced for preeclampsia, but don’t recommend inductions!! When I was close to my induction date I read a Lot of positive birth stories, prayed a lot, and tried to rid myself of Any negative emotions. I also told Sam about my need for nothing but positive cOmments and he did a great job encouraging me. Your little boy is lucky to have a patient momma who is willing to wait until he is perfectly mature to make his grand entrance!!!

Leave a Reply

